Sponsored byWaste Management


Occupational Safety and Health
State Resource Locator



Minnesota is one of 21 states operating an approved occupational safety and health program. This program is operated by the Minnesota OSHA.

The Minnesota Occupational Safety and Health program is administered by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. The department's Occupational Safety and Health (OSH) Division is responsible for compliance program administration, conducting enforcement inspections, adoption of standards, and operation of other related OSHA activities. Workplace Safety Consultation provides consultation services, on request, to help employers prevent workplace accidents and diseases by identifying and correcting safety and health hazards, and operates several employer assistance programs. Minnesota OSHA generally adopts Federal OSHA standards by reference. With the exception of the standards listed below, all federal OSHA standards for General Industry (29 CFR Part 1910) and Construction (29 CFR Part 1926) have been adopted by Minnesota OSHA. Minnesota OSHA has also adopted state-specific standards which address hazards not covered by federal OSHA standards. For example, a significant difference between federal and MNOSHA regulations include the MNOSHA lockout/tagout standard for the construction industry. This standard is in addition to the federal standard found at 29 CFR 1926.417.

Applicable Agencies

Occupational Safety and Health Regulations State Consultation Program
WSC works with employers and employees to solve safety and health problems before they occur. It offers free on-site consultation services, upon request, to help employers improve their safety and health record, lower accident costs, and reduce MNOSHA citations and penalties.

Other Resources

©2015 Healthcare Environmental Resource Center